Information Please

This topic contains 16 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  tom 12 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

jmsmyth
    Participant

Hi All

After 5 years, on Thursday, I finally found out what type of Myeloma Frank has. (to be honest I did not know there were different types, only realised from posts on site). She said it was IGG Kappa. I did a search on internet but could not get a clear explanation. Can anyone help. She said Frank still did not need treatment. Protein had gone up from 28 to 30, Haemaglobin 11.3, Calcium 2.43 (think point in right place) and light chain 96.7. She said he will eventually need treatment but everything else is stable. Will monitor with MRI's but so far (thank God) no signs of bone damage.

Can anyone give me some more information as it is another 2 months before we go back.

Thanks
    Love Jean x

Gill
    Participant

Sorry Jean I have no knowledge of this at all. Hopefully somebody will be able to explain. Have you thought of asking the nurses on this site? I know,from what other people have said, that they are very helpful.

I spent a little time in the States and there was a lovely saying our neighbours had (more than one saying but I will save others for another time:))
    If they did not understand what I meant they would say "Cripple that, and run it past me one more time"

I am sure that the nurses on here are used to explaining things to people,like us, who have very limited knowledge of medicine in a way that is easier to understand

I do hope you get some explanations of what it all means.

Take care and stay in touch Gillxx

jmsmyth
    Participant

Thanks Gill I never thought of that. Will do it right away

Love Jean xx

eve
    Participant

Hi Jean
    There is a book called Myeloma your essential guide.