heart and skin complications with Autologous SCT

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  langdale 8 years ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

docmike
    Participant

Hi
    Ive been on this forum for over 7 years but mainly contributed to the smouldering section.Suffice is to say that last year thing progressed and after a partial response to sequential ctd and vcd i underwent an autologous sct in early november .I subsequently had two complications worthy of discussion.
    On day 30 ish I felt repeatedly very light headed and taking out my old stethoscope(yes I am a retired consultant gastroenterologist) listened to my heart ;rate 170 !!!!! I went back to my heamatology day ward was admitted and found to have Supraventicular tachycardia which stopped with the valsalva maneouvre .This was due to excess caffeinated coffee with which I had no such problems in the past . And subsequently had no problems on decaff coffee . But I had to have an echocardiogram which showed significant left ventricular dysfunction =cardiomyopathy and ejection fraction <50% = bad . I had no cardiac symptoms but felt tired like everyone else thats had a transplant .However a repeat echo showed improvement so it appears reversible . My cardiologist friend said this was not uncommon with other types of chemo and cyclophosphamide as well as melphalan may be indicated .
    Reference to follow
    Skin complication coming shortly
    Mike

docmike
    Participant

reference European Journal of Heamatology vol 89 ppp 228-235 JS Bleeker et al

kp
    Participant

Hi Mike, the main problem I had after the administration of high dose Melphalan was low blood pressure. I hadn’t realised there was a risk of ongoing cardiac problems and don’t recall it being discussed. Mind you there was so much to take in at the time it is quite possible/probable it was as I have been very well looked after throughout this journey.