Hello I am a Newbie from across the Pond

This topic contains 33 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  terryl1 12 years ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author

terryl1
    Participant

Hello, I found this site surfing the net and I really like the useful posts from everyone. I am a 49 year old guy with a wife and two young sons who was diagnosed with myeloma in August, 2011. It was found only because I am on Lipitor, a statin, for high cholesterol. My family doctor referred me to a hematologist for a low white blood count and, well, you all know the rest! I live in the state of New Jersey in the US, very close to Philadelphia, where there is a world famous cancer center at the University of Pennsylvania. The myeloma expert there told me I am smoldering with a high risk for progression to active myeloma. I have also joined a landmark study of the natural progression of myeloma from its precursor states of MGUS and smoldering myeloma which is being conducted at our national Institutes of Health near Washington, DC. The myeloma expert there, Dr. Landgren, is trying to figure out how to halt progression to active myeloma using vaccines, etc. He is an amazing man and I wouldn't be surprised if he figures it all out for all of us. Currently, I do a watch and wait protocol and they check for CRAB symptoms. So far, I have mild anemia, but not enough to trigger treatment. Anyway, I am so happy that I found your site. In the US, we have the Myeloma Beacon site and the ACOR listserv and many people from throughout the world post on them. Regards to all. Terry

brocho
    Participant