RE: Newly Diagnosed

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  lennie72 7 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

paulb
    Participant

Hello There. This is my first time on any kind of forum. My name is Paul and on 23/12/16 was given the tragic news that I have multiple myeloma. As you can imagine, having to tell my Partner and close family over this festive period was the most difficult time ever however I am fortunate in that me and my better half both have small families and so are very loving and close – this will obviously help in the ensuing time ahead.

I am later today visitng the Hospital for my biopsy to establish how advanced my case is and would like to share with anyone who is in a similar stage so that we may share and discuss.

andyg
    Participant

Hi Paul

Welcome to the Myeloma club. I’m sorry you are joining us as myeloma is such a horrible disease. I hope the biopsy went ok and wasn’t too painful. I’m due one in the New Year.

The first thing you’ll notice is that no two patients have the same journey treatment and outcomes are very much an individual thing. There’s nothing much I can add till you’ve been assessed and put on to your treatment. I hope everything goes well for you.

Every day is a gift.

Andy

paulb
    Participant

Hello Andy

Thank you for the email, it was good to hear from you. The biopsy went well and is not too bad. I am scheduled for various other tests and scans next Wednesday to assess my condition and its severity, with chemo treatment looking to be started the following week if all okay to proceed.

I purchased a vee pillow yesterday which has helped with my resting position both on the sofa and in bed – which was a welcome relief.

Best wishes to you for your biopsy when due.

Take care and please keep in touch.

Paul

davidainsdale
    Participant

Hi Paul

Sorry to hear about your diagnosis, hope that you are coming to terms with what has happened.