Side effects

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  davidainsdale 4 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

lafleck
    Participant

Good morning. I’m new to this but wonder if someone can offer reassurance perhaps. My husband was diagnosed with MM in January this year. Within a week of diagnosis he commenced 16 weeks of VTD. Unfortunately, as this was ending he became quite ill, where he was hospitalised with AF and an elevated diaphragm was also diagnosed. The doctors treating him feel this was a side effect of his treatment. So more drugs for the AF and the elevated diaphragm appears to be a permanent state of affairs. 3 weeks ago he had a session of cyclophosphamide ahead of a very successful stem cell harvest 10 days ago. He is soon to undergo some routine health screening ahead of a planned return of his stem cells in early July. He really hasn’t been well since the cyclophosphamide and I was wondering if anyone had experience of this time in their treatment. His appetite remains pretty nonexistent, he feels shivery most of the time, his stomach feels gripey pretty constantly…. the list goes on! Interestingly, his hair and beard have only started to fall out in the last few days. We are quite concerned that this general malaise he is experiencing might jeopardise the treatment planned for next month. When did others feel ‘better’ post the cyclophosphamide? Thank you

davidainsdale
    Participant

Hi Lynne

Sorry to hear that your husband has myeloma and is suffering just now with the treatment.

The nurses on the Myeloma UK helpline are a great source of advice and I would certainly advise speaking to them. If it is anything to do with myeloma, they have probably seen or heard about it before, if not they will find out!