Velcade Experiences

This topic contains 16 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  KeithH17 11 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

deborah
    Participant

Hello! I'm a newbie with a question.

My mother had chemotherapy a couple of years ago for MM and was in recession until recently. It looks like she'll soon be starting chemotherapy again, but this time on a different drug: Velcade. Just wondering if anyone here is willing to share experiences with this drug, good or bad. For the record, her last chemotherapy was Thalidomide-based and she had a rough time of it.

Thanks for any and all replies!

tom
    Participant

Hi Deborah

I cant add to this one am afraid just wanted to welcome you and your Mum into the group but some one will pop in and sort out your Q.

All the best in the road to remission for your Mum

Tom "Onwards and Upwards" xx

avantromp
    Participant

Hallo Deborah
    You enquired about Velcade? About a month ago I attended the National Myeloma day in the Netherlands. Dr.Lokhorst gave a lecture on problems related to MM medication. He said that there is 50% chance of getting shingles if you take Velcade and he always prescribes zelitrex for protection. Believe me, you do not want to get shingles if it can be avoided. I am receiving treatment for MM (not Velcade) and got shingles in February. The pain is still not completely gone.
    All the best to your mother
    Annette

deborah
    Participant

Thanks for the kind words, Tom!

deborah
    Participant

Annette, I didn't know that; thanks for sharing. Can one get a shingles vaccination in the UK?

avantromp
    Participant

Hallo Deborah
    I am a complete layman so don't take what I say as gospel. I have heard that a vaccination is available but it is made from a weakened live virus and is therefore not suitable for anyone with reduced resistance.