At a low point

This topic contains 14 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  bandityoga 11 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

susanc
    Participant

Hi everyone
    this is my first time so be gentle.My husband was diagnosed with MM in jan 2011. Since then it has been a roller coaster ride.He was on Myeloma X1 trial at first but so many things happened ie DVT, back collapse, Sore on his back, weight loss and no appetite to name but a few . He has been on velcade for the past few months. I have given up work to look after him and feel low at present as there is no light at the end of the tunnel. His personality has completly changed and cannot be bothered to do anything ,this is not what was expected and noone advised us that this would happen . Is this normal or just unique to Ken ? Can someone who is going through it please contact me , I feel the need to offload. Thanks
    Sue

Perkymite
    Participant

Hi Sue, Firstly welcome to the site, not a thing you ever wanted but the people on here are good people and you will get lots of support I am sure. Secondly if you have any questions about Myeloma you have three avenues. One, the site forum, two, the site itself which has bags of UP-TO-DATE information and lastly the Myeloma UK Nurse – her number is on the site and it is free.

You will quickly learn that Myeloma is a very individual decease and whilst everybody is on the same road we are all in different avenues on that road. Having said that there are a number of points where our avenues either cross or are the same for a period.

I would guess that his personality change is due to the drugs especially if he is on Dex which we call Dex-attitude because it does change your personality whilst you are on it. Moody, depressed, angry for no reason – they are all related to Dex.