clinic visit

This topic contains 14 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  teds31 11 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

teds31
    Participant

Hi, just been for my 3 month visit to clinic, I have been Smouldering MM for about 6 years,the doc said my PP was fine at 14, it has been between 11 and 14 most of the time ,but she said my light chains were 900, they have been up and down over the years and she said this was usual but they have never been 900 and she said the trend was upward this was ofcourse Augusts results as it takes 2 weeks to get the blood results. When I asked if I would get my usual 3 month appointment she said she would like to see me in 8 weeks After Christmas, I haven't much experiance of light chains can anyone say if they are significant or as important as PP results. Ted.

BADGER
    Participant

Hi Teds

I make heavy light chains which is an indicater of MM being on the move I have started velcade as my light chains had shot up it was the light chains that helped damage my kidney so its omportant they keep a good eye on it you may be ok but it might be a good thing the doctor wants to see you early
    Keep well
    Love Jo x

Vicki
    Participant

Hi ted,

Colin was told his pps were17 at the start of his diagnosis, but his light chains were 31000. (yes that's 31 thousand!). The consultants never really explained the difference or significance of each, but I think the light chains are significant due to floating about and affecting the kidneys……I could be wrong and not medical.

Which ever way it goes ted they got colins light chains down to 700 before his SCT and his pps down to zero, so if you do end up with treatment, got every confidence for you 🙂

Vicki and Colin x

tom
    Participant

Hi Ted

Well I just nipped in to say Hi (Hi) as I aint a clue about PP cc or any other things techie ? so good luck I hope you dont need treatment for many a year to come 🙂