New Myeloma Member

This topic contains 9 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  richfs 2 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

hendaz68
    Participant

Good morning
    Hope everyone is ok?
    I am new to all of this so please be kind 😬.
    November 8th I got diagnosed with Myeloma blood cancer 😞 I’ve just completed my 1st cycle & have my next chemo session on 14th December.
    I also got diagnosed with coeliac disease in July 2021 so a double whammy 🥴 I’m more upset I have to eat gluten free food & drink for the rest of my life 😞
    Hopefully I will make some new friends along my journey.
    Take care everyone & have a good weekend.

paulapurple
    Participant

I’ve just answered your other message. Just to say I made some friends, online and in my local area, from the UK Myeloma Facebook page so you might want to join that. Some areas also have local support groups. Myeloma UK will have a list of them.
    Good luck

Paula

mulberry
    Participant

Welcome to the forum.
    When I was diagnosed my test results suggested that I may be coeliac too, along with a few other things. I didn’t get the definitive test but a few months later, on reading that more myeloma patients are coeliac than chance would suggest, started a gluten free diet which I’ve now been on for more than 3 years, and I do definitely feel better for it, even though I miss proper bread!

I hope your results from your first cycle are good, and best of luck for your next cycle.

hendaz68
    Participant

Hi Paula.

Thank you for replying I’m new to all of this but appreciate all comments & info I’m not on Facebook unfortunately ☹️

I’m going in for my 6th Chemo treatment today 1st week of cycle 2. I’ve not been sleeping very good since my chemo on Tuesday I guess it’s down to the steroids & meds?

Thank you for taking time out & replying I promise to try & keep up to date with this forum 😁

Take care

Peter

hendaz68
    Participant