Not sure of my diagnosis ???

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  struth 4 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

struth
    Participant

Hi all – I’m new to all this and hoping for a bit of advice/clarity. I’ve been anemic off and on for past two years. Good atm after an iron infusion in July (after a week in hospital with food poisoning. Any way this led to abdo CT’s finding 2 lesions on spine. IgG has been slightly elevated for 18mths Beta 2 microglobulin is 3.1. Last blood test showed “monoclonal banding of undetermined significance on polyclonal background”. I’m having a ct skeletal survey next week, all new bloods and urine and appointment with haemotologist in six weeks. When I saw her this week she gave me a booklet on myeloma highlighting the MGUS section and I understand all this. My calcium snd kidneys are good. My question is do I have MGUS or do you think she will wait until these test results to diagnose? Thx Ruth

mulberry
    Participant

Hi Ruth
    It sounds as if you are having a proper full, non urgent assessment of your monoclonal paraproteins.
    It has long been known that some people have a pre cancerous condition called MGUS Monoclonal Gammopathy of Unknown Significance and live perfectly long and healthy lives without it progressing. A long term study of the whole population over age 40 in Iceland (called IStopMM) is demonstrating that this is more common than previously realised, as it is only found incidentally.
    However it’s now believed that everyone diagnosed with multiple myeloma, or it’s immediate precursor form Smouldering Myeloma, will have had MGUS first. And it is possible to develop Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL) rather than myeloma from MGUS.