Progress and roadmap

This topic contains 12 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  mervyn53 9 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

mervyn53
    Participant

Hi

I am new to this so all advice welcome. I was diagnosed with MM early December 2014 after I collapsed at home. Was in hospital and immobile for 3-4 weeks but they let me out on 24/12. I have been on velcade, dexi,cyclo etc since then and my paraprotein scores have gone from 74 at the start to 48 after 2 cycles, 18 after 3 and now 9. I am still on the velcade and the rest once a week, but I have no idea how this para reduction compares to others.

My consultant says that we will have a conversation about stem cell soon. One guy in the hospital said that he had had it and he felt awful for 3 weeks and then it took 6 months to feel ‘human’ again. Is that typical ?

All advice/experience welcome. Up till now I thought I was fit !

Carolsymons
    Participant

First of all welcome and I know how you feel. I thought I was the fittest 63 year old in London till diagnosis! Sounds like you are doing really well. It is true the SCT lays you low for a couple of weeks and it does take quite some time to recover. But if you can gain a good remission and be drug free for a while I think it is well worth it.

Carol

mervyn53
    Participant

Dear  Carol

Thank you for that. I have read that really they only give you two goes at SCT.  If you get your paraprotein level really low, isn’t it worth saving those two goes and not having the SCT until the MM comes back ?  Any view on that ?

Thanks.

Mervyn

Carolsymons
    Participant

Hi Mervyn