Stem Cell Transplant questions on going home

This topic contains 13 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  tony642 1 year, 7 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

smj
    Participant

Hello. This is my first time on here. Looking for some information.

I have nearly completed my 6 cycles of VTD and am being encouraged to have a stem cell transplant.

I am interested in how people who have had a stem cell transplant coped with it.

I have been reading some of your comments about your experience with the stem cell transplant and they have been very useful.

Just wondering if anyone could tell me what they were able and unable to do and the support they needed when they went home from hospital? How difficult did they found it? What were the issues/challenges they came across? Any long term issues? How long did it take for them to be up and about out walking, driving, and living a normal a life as possible.

I don’t have any support at home which is making the decision more tricky

Really looking forward to hearing from you.
    Many thanks

mulberry
    Participant

Hi SMJ, I know several people with myeloma in my local support group who live alone & have had SCT, so it is do-able.
    We are, and have to be, told all the fairly common side effects, but you are as unlikely to have all of them, as none of them.
    Most of us have some level of nausea and diarrhoea, lack of appetite and fatigue, especially when neutropenic. This is when the old stem cells have died, about a week after the melphalan infusion, before the transplanted cells really come into their own around day 12.

I remember feeling quite elated and energetic on day 12, when I could literally feel myself getting better hour on hour, and was discharged only a couple of days later. (However I had picked up a virus and ended up being readmitted for a further 5 days). So I was finally out on about day 22.