Another new kid

This topic contains 9 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  ozzy 12 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Heathermac
    Participant

Hello! Diagnosed with myeloma in May 2010, after finding myself in spinal cord compression. A big shock, as I am a nurse, and had not even considered myeloma as a cause of my problems. Mind you, neither did my GP! Have been through CDT and high dose chemo and am now 6 months past SCT. So am feeling not bad physically altho worried about return to work as it is such a tiring job, physically and emotionally(I work on the District). Don't know why I haven't joined the forum before but I think I could only cope with knowing and thinking a certain amount about the disease. Now I am feeling better, I am also experiencing mixed emotions about this. Where do I go from here? What is normal? This is a very weird time, and I guess a bit scary. I am 95o/o in remission, which is great, but due to see consultant in about ten days time for next results. I am generally very positive but now I need to move forward, but am not quite sure how. Would like to travel again but worried about how I will be, particularly as regards tiredness. Thanks for listening!

Perkymite
    Participant

Firstly Welcome (?) to our group and the forum, not a group you no doubt wished to join but here we all are.

I am 1 year post SCT now and I am leading a near normal life. I get tired sometimes in the afternoon, when I just sit down in my reclining chair and have a kip>:-) However, I am not really sure whether it is old age, I am 69, or Myeloma. I am in partial remission my PPs being 2.4 at the moment, 33 when this all started in July 2009. A phrase often used on this site is ?listen to your body? and I think you will find that good advice.